Daily Archives: November 23, 2006

Photo please

One of the struggles for me in Barcamp Cork was trying to identify bloggers (and others) whom I knew by name but not what they looked like.

To help this time around I have done a quick search (with no regard for copyright issues) for images of attendee’s. Some I have not found – help required please to keep it comprehensive.

I used a bcise tag in flickr.

Hope people find this useful on the day. It also gives a more human side to the group that will gather. If you don’t like your pic – tag one of your own :-).

If I have misidentified you completely – please let me know.

keith

I almost forgot – VC :-)

A third ingredient in the success of a barcamp (after the logo and the tag. And maybe the T-Shirt) is the presence of a VC. In Cork Brian Caulfield fulfilled that role and in Waterford on Jan 20th it looks like Tom Shinkwin from Enterprise Equity has drawn the short straw 🙂

I want Tom to speak – and specifically I want to hear about their investment in O’hEocha Design.  They do funky  hi-fi speakers and appear to be moving into wireless hifi kit. I guess he could mention funding for start-up’s as well – Brian  got a great audience in  Cork.

keith

In Balance

As at 07.31 this morning the wiki shows

  • 17 attendees (of whom 17 male)
  • 1 Talker (Bernie – you have to be guaranteed an audience 🙂

This is a very shy bunch. There are some on the list who are regular speakers – please list your chosen topics gentlemen. For those of you who are not be clear about this – everyone has a story to tell that is of interest to the rest of us. The barcamp audience are very receptive and encouraging to new speakers – it is an audience of people who are your peers and who share the same issues, worries and challenges.

Your talk could be about the challenges to start-up a business, your personal or business success or failures, an idea you have but do not know how to progress (how about an idea lab session – each person gives a 2 minute overview of an idea and invites feedback – I have at least one that feedback would be welcome on) or your use of technology or internet services.

Get up there and list yourself in the talkers space – powerpoint if you wish, use a whiteboard or just talk.

keith